Big Steelworker Win in the House!!!



Big Steelworker Win in the House!


As impacted USW members from our health care and social service sectors sat in the gallery of the U.S. House of Representatives, anxiously awaiting a vote on H.R. 1309, the Workplace Violence Protection for Health Care and Social Service Workers Act, Members of Congress debated the merits of the bill. For months, all of you have engaged on this critically important issue, calling your Representatives, sharing stories, rallying, and lobbying in both Washington, D.C. and back in your states.

Last week, your hard work paid off. The bill was passed with bipartisan support, 251-158.

“Our members mobilized all across the country and across industries to collect more than 80,000 signatures in support of this bill because they know it affects all working people,” said USW International President Tom Conway. “This is how we make progress – by finding common ground and solidarity around issues that impact everyday Americans and making our voices heard.”   

Thank you to each and every one of you who took the time to urge your legislators to protect workers – you make a difference!

How did your Representative vote?

See below for the breakdown. You can also click HERE for the roll call.

Be sure to follow up with them by calling at 866-202-5409. Thank them for supporting the bill or let them know you are displeased they didn’t have our backs this time.

Our work will continue as we put pressure on the Senate to introduce and pass their version of the bill (S.851). Workplace violence is the third-leading cause of death on the job, and health care and social service workers are among the most vulnerable. Now is the time to reverse that statistic.

You can let your Senators know this is a Steelworker priority by calling 877-607-0785 and telling them to demand the bill is brought to the Senate floor for a vote. Click HERE to see if your Senators are currently cosponsors.

Final vote results the roll call vote on H.R. 1309, The Workplace Violence and Prevention for Health Care and Social Service Workers Act.
(Democrats in roman; Republicans in italics; Independents underlined)

251 Representatives who stood by us and voted for H.R. 1309, please thank them!

Adams, Allred, Axne, Bacon, Barragán, Bass, Beatty, Bera, Beyer, Blumenauer, Blunt Rochester, Bonamici, Bost, Boyle, Brendan F., Brindisi, Brooks (IN), Brown (MD), Brownley (CA), Bucshon, Burgess, Bustos, Butterfield, Carbajal, Cárdenas, Carson (IN), Cartwright, Case, Casten, (IL), Castor (FL), Castro (TX), Chu, Judy, Cicilline, Cisneros, Clark (MA), Clarke (NY), Clay, Cleaver, Clyburn, Cohen, Cole, Connolly, Cook, Correa, Costa, Courtney, Cox (CA), Craig, Crist, Crow, Cuellar, Cunningham, Davids (KS), Davis (CA), Davis, Danny K., Davis, Rodney, Dean, DeFazio, DeGette, DeLauro, DelBene, Delgado, Demings, DeSaulnier, Deutch, Dingell, Doggett, Doyle, Michael F., Engel, Escobar, Eshoo, Espaillat, Finkenauer, Fitzpatrick, Fletcher, Fortenberry, Foster, Frankel, Gallego, Garamendi, García (IL), Garcia (TX), Golden, Gomez, Gonzalez (TX), Gottheimer, Graves (LA), Green, Al (TX), Grijalva, Haaland, Harder (CA), Hartzler, Hastings, Hayes, Heck, Herrera Beutler, Higgins (NY), Himes, Horn, Kendra S., Horsford, Houlahan, Hoyer, Hurd (TX), Jackson Lee, Jayapal, Jeffries, Johnson (GA), Johnson, (TX), Joyce (OH), Kaptur, Katko, Keating, Kelly (IL), Kennedy, Khanna, Kildee, Kilmer, Kim, Kind, King (NY), Kirkpatrick, Krishnamoorthi, Kuster (NH), Lamb, Langevin, Larsen (WA), Larson (CT), Lawrence, Lawson (FL), Lee (CA), Lee (NV), Lesko, Levin (CA), Levin (MI), Lieu, Ted, Lipinski, Loebsack, Lofgren, Lowenthal, Lowey, Luján, Luria, Lynch, Malinowski, Maloney, Carolyn B., Maloney, Sean, Marchant, Matsui, McAdams, McBath, McCollum, McGovern, McKinley, McNerney, Meeks, Meng, Morelle, Mucarsel-Powell, Murphy (FL), Nadler, Napolitano, Neal, Neguse, Newhouse, Norcross, O'Halleran, Ocasio-Cortez, Omar, Pallone, Panetta, Pappas, Pascrell, Payne, Perlmutter, Peters, Peterson, Phillips, Pingree, Pocan, Porter, Pressley, Price (NC), Quigley, Raskin, Reed, Rice (NY), Rodgers (WA), Roe, David P., Rose (NY), Rouda, Roybal-Allard, Ruiz, Ruppersberger, Rush, Ryan, Sánchez, Sarbanes, Scanlon, Schakowsky, Schiff, Schneider, Schrader, Schrier, Scott (VA), Scott, David, Sewell (AL), Shalala, Sherman, Sherrill, Sires, Slotkin, Smith (NJ), Smith (WA), Soto, Spanberger, Speier, Stanton, Stauber, Stefanik, Stevens, Suozzi, Swalwell (CA), Takano, Thompson (CA), Thompson (MS), Tipton, Titus, Tlaib, Tonko, Torres (CA), Torres Small (NM), Trahan, Trone, Underwood, Upton, Van Drew, Vargas, Veasey, Vela, Velázquez, Visclosky, Walden, Wasserman Schultz, Waters, Watson Coleman, Welch, Wexton, Wild, Wilson (FL), Yarmuth, Young, Zeldin

158 Representatives who chose not to support our priorities and voted against H.R. 1309, let them know you are disappointed with them.

Abraham, Aderholt, Allen, Amash, Amodei, Armstrong, Arrington, Babin, Baird, Balderson, Banks, Barr, Bergman, Biggs, Bilirakis, Bishop, (NC), Bishop (UT), Brady, Brooks (AL), Buchanan, Buck, Budd, Burchett, Calvert, Carter (GA), Carter (TX), Chabot, Cheney, Cline, Cloud, Collins (GA), Comer, Conaway, Crawford, Curtis, Davidson (OH), DesJarlais, Diaz-Balart, Duncan, Dunn, Emmer, Estes, Ferguson, Fleischmann, Foxx (NC), Fulcher, Gaetz, Gallagher, Gianforte, Gibbs, Gohmert, Gonzalez (OH), Gooden, Granger, Graves (GA), Graves, (MO), Green (TN), Griffith, Grothman, Guest, Guthrie, Hagedorn, Harris, Hern, Kevin, Hice (GA), Higgins (LA), Hill (AR), Holding, Hollingsworth, Hudson, Huizenga, Hunter, Johnson (LA), Johnson (OH), Johnson (SD), Jordan, Joyce (PA), Keller, Kelly (MS), Kelly (PA), King (IA), Kinzinger, Kustoff (TN), LaHood, LaMalfa, Lamborn, Latta, Long, Loudermilk, Lucas, Luetkemeyer, Marshall, Massie, Mast, McCarthy, McCaul, McClintock, McHenry, Meadows, Meuser, Miller, Mitchell, Moolenaar, Mooney (WV), Mullin, Murphy (NC), Norman, Nunes, Olson, Palazzo, Palmer, Pence, Perry, Posey, Ratcliffe, Rice (SC), Riggleman, Roby, Rogers (AL), Rogers (KY), Rooney (FL), Rose, John W., Rouzer, Roy, Rutherford, Scalise, Schweikert, Scott, Austin, Sensenbrenner, Shimkus, Simpson, Smith (MO), Smith (NE), Smucker, Spano, Steil, Steube, Stewart, Taylor, Thompson (PA), Thornberry, Turner, Wagner, Walberg, Walker, Walorski, Waltz, Weber (TX), Webster (FL), Wenstrup, Westerman, Williams, Wilson (SC), Wittman, Womack, Woodall, Wright, Yoho

21 Representatives who did not vote:

Aguilar, Bishop (GA), Byrne, Cooper, Crenshaw, Evans, Flores, Fudge, Gabbard, Gosar, Huffman, Lewis, McEachin, Moore, Moulton, Reschenthaler, Richmond, Serrano, Stivers, Timmons, Watkins

Click HERE to download a printable version to share in your workplace.